--- title: "Creating and Managing Lists" slug: "creating-and-managing-lists" status: "update" updated: 2026-07-18T19:03:08Z published: 2026-07-18T19:03:08Z canonical: "support.builtapp.com/creating-and-managing-lists" stale: true --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://support.builtapp.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Creating and Managing Lists --- Creating lists allows you to group people into teams, committees, lists of high performers, and other non-hierarchical groupings. You can also assign roles within teams for matrix-style structures. ## To create a list: *Only Company Admins, HR Admins, and HR Managers can create lists and initially assign Collaborators. Collaborators can then manage the lists they’re assigned to and assign additional Collaborators. Learn more about* [*managing user roles and permissions*](/v1/docs/managing-user-roles-and-permissions)*.* 1. From the main menu, navigate to the **Org Chart** page. 2. Click the chart dropdown in the upper-left corner of the page. 3. Click the **Lists** tab, then click the **+** icon to add the list. 4. Enter a name for the new list. 5. Include an optional description to help define the list's purpose. 6. Add individuals by entering their names in the **List Members** field, then click the **+** icon. *Members cannot access the list unless they are assigned as a Collaborator, or viewing permissions include everyone.* 7. Optionally assign each member a role within the scope of the list (e.g., Committee Chair). 8. Click **Save**. ## Viewing and Managing a List Lists you’ve created or have permission to view can be accessed via the chart dropdown by clicking the **Lists** tab. ### To edit a list: 1. When viewing the desired list, click the **Manage List** button in the upper-right corner. 2. Edit the list’s name, description, members, and roles as needed. 3. Click **Save**. ### To adjust visibility and permissions to include the entire company or select Collaborators only: 1. Click the eye icon in the upper-right corner of the list. 2. Confirm who can view the list by selecting **Collaborators Only** or **All Employees**. 3. Add Collaborators you’d like to allow to edit this list by entering their names into the space provided. To unassign a Collaborator, click the **X** next to their name. 4. Click the **Link Sharing** toggle on if you’d like to share a read-only version of the list. *You can also export the list by clicking the export icon in the upper-right corner.* 5. Click **Save**. ### To duplicate, archive, restore, or delete a list: 1. On the chart dropdown’s **List** tab, hover over the desired list. 2. **To duplicate the list**, click the copy icon, edit the list as needed, then click **Save**. **To archive the list**, click the three-dot menu, then click **Archive**. *Archived lists can be accessed via the* ***Show Archived Lists*** *link. You can then restore or permanently delete an archived list from its three-dot menu.* Please contact our Customer Success Team for additional assistance.