--- title: "Creating and Managing Employee Types" slug: "creating-and-managing-employee-types" status: "new" updated: 2026-09-22T20:59:52Z published: 2026-09-22T20:59:52Z canonical: "support.builtapp.com/creating-and-managing-employee-types" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://support.builtapp.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Creating and Managing Employee Types --- Your organization’s account automatically includes the following employee types: - Full Time - Part Time - Contractor - Intern - Temporary - Temporary Part Time - Temporary Full Time Based on your organization’s needs, you can view, edit, or archive these employee types or create your own. When creating or editing an employee type, you can designate it as your organization’s default. The default is automatically assigned to new people and positions, but you can adjust the employee type manually if needed. *Only Company Admins and HR Admins can manage company settings. Learn more about* [*managing user roles and permissions*](/v1/docs/managing-user-roles-and-permissions)*.* ## To create an employee type: 1. Click your company name at the top of the main navigation, then click **Company Settings**. 2. Click the **Profiles** tab. *If the tab is not immediately visible, click the* ***More*** *tab.* 3. When the page opens, locate the **Employee Types** section and click the **Add** button in the upper-right corner. 4. When the New Employee Type window opens, enter a name for the new employee type, then click the **Category** dropdown to select the desired option. 5. Using the checkbox provided, confirm if you’d like to make the new employee type your organization’s default. 6. Click **Save**. The new employee type will now appear in the list. ## To edit, archive, or delete an employee type: 1. Locate the employee type in the list. 2. Click the three-dot menu and make the appropriate selection: • **Edit:** Update the name of the employee type and/or confirm whether it is your organization’s default before clicking **Save**. • **Archive:** Confirm this action by clicking **Archive**. *Notes about archiving employee types:* *• If another default employee type is configured, all positions and people previously assigned to the archived type will be reassigned to the default; otherwise, the employee type will be removed and left blank.* *• To unarchive the employee type, click the three-dot menu and click* ***Unarchive****.* *• Archiving history is recorded in* [*chart history*](/v1/docs/applying-org-chart-visualization-tools#chart-history) *and* [*position history*](/v1/docs/viewing-position-history) *for assigned positions and people.* • **Delete:** Confirm this action by clicking **Delete**. *Only custom employee types created by your organization can be deleted.* Please contact our Customer Success Team for additional assistance. ## Additional Resources [Adding People and Managing Their Records](/v1/docs/adding-people-to-your-account-and-managing-their-records) [Inviting Others to Your Account](/v1/docs/inviting-others-to-your-account) [Receiving Notifications of Profile Updates](/v1/docs/receiving-notifications-of-profile-updates)